Canard Aviation Forum  

Go Back   Canard Aviation Forum > Rules and Regulations > Rules and Regulations - USA
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-25-2017, 11:40 AM
Bill Welter

Default Uh-Oh, Here We Go - State Sales Tax

Just got a letter from Colorado Dept Of Revenue - "We just received word that you purchased an airplane and we need proof that you paid taxes on it".

So I called them up, explained that it's a homebuilt, and that I've been buying parts for 7 years, mostly mailorder. They want to see the receipts! I said no receipts, but I have a spreadsheet that shows every item that I purchased, so they want that.

I have a really bad feeling about this, more government BS

Last edited by LEZ1675 : 08-25-2017 at 01:27 PM.
Old 08-25-2017, 05:36 PM
Got Foam?

Default Re: Uh-Oh, Here We Go - State Sales Tax

Let's see .......
6 boxes of wing foam at $1.45 each ......
EAA #390365
Got Foam?
Mann's Airplane Factory
We add rocket's to everything!
4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 19, 20 DONE
Old 08-30-2017, 12:18 PM

In Virginia:

If you purchase parts from an individual that doesn't sell parts often, its called occasional sale and you don't need to pay tax.

I bought my engine from a friend... it came off of his RV-9. I don't have to pay tax on the engine since its the only thing I bought from him and its the only engine he has sold.

I bought my canard from an individual that builds canards. I do need to pay tax on it because at the time he sold multiple canards.

ALSO,
we don't typically have to pay tax on shipping

ALSO,
Sales tax in Virginia is 4.5%. Aircraft sales and use tax is 2%. The state of VA charges 2% on items purchased to build a plane.

Your state may have similar rules.
Cozy MKIV #1273
Chapter 23
Old 08-30-2017, 07:41 PM

Just tell them you can't release the information because it's "under audit".

Joe Polenek
Cozy MkIV #1550
Old 08-30-2017, 09:10 PM
Got Foam?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpolenek View Post